I'm a pretty new bassist, been going for about 3 months at the most. I have a GSR200, and an Ibanez SW35 amp. Not the flashest gear, but I noticed a few weeks ago I had an effects send/return thinger on the back of the amp.

Now, I'm a mainly metal/rock player. In that genre, distortion and wah are used the most, I believe. My friend recommended a Dunlop Crybaby (bass), but I've read some funny reviews saying it's only good for funk. Would it work for metal?

For a distortion thing.. I have no clue. A combo effects unit for wah and distortion maybe? But I don't know if those even exist, let alone where to find one. As you can see, I need quite a bit of help. Could anybody recommend good effects units for a beginner, that are decently priced and probably last a while?

(also, this is a sexy second bass, I think..)
If i am totally honest with you, i would forget effects pedals for now, and concentrate on your playing. After 3 months you cant have any chops at all, so you should spend your time concentrating on getting better as a player. effects will distract you from what needs to be done - solid bass work.

If you insist on distracting yourself, however, i would say buy a Guv'nor or a Big Muff and use only Morley wahs as they kick the skinny arse off Cry Babys
im afraid i agree with applehead. Skills and techniques are way more important at the moment, and using effects etc will distract u and make u sound better than u probably are. Also, wen u start to get better ull hav a better idea of wat u really want effects-wise. Imo, effects shud only be there to enhance alreadly good playing.
yeah^ pretty early for you mate. ive been playing bass about 14 months now, and i dont feel im in the effects stage yet.
i need to get a better signature.