Hey guys, i have been playing electric guitar for the last 3 years and i wanna take up bass to. But i am having trouble finding a cheap bass. I am at an intermmediate level on guitar but i just wanna get a real cheap but half decent bass to muck around and play on. My main influences are the kinks, the jam rhcp, libertines, foo fighters, muse, futureheads and arctic monkeys and i am playing music based a lot around these kinds of artists. Basically, i like punk, indie, modern rock and funk. Now for the bit i hate, my budget is a mere £150 which is about $250 i thinkand it is a very strict budget as i intend on getting a bass in a couple of weeks.

Could you guys suggest a bass in that range suited to my styles basically. Thank you very much for your help, really appreciate it guys!!
Last edited by bettyswollox at Jun 19, 2006,
At the moment i have been looking at the peavey milestone 3 and 4 but i'll give ibanez a look.
legit, yes. crap, also though.

OLP, Ibanez, Yamaha..some will say fender squir but i dont like them
How about the peavey then, i mean i'm not really liking the setup and look of the cheap ibanez.
I'm not a fan of Ibanez either, just giving it as a suggestion. you might like them.. what avout the OLP's? Yamaha? I'm not a fan of Peavey. what about second hand?
Well i did find the yamaha rbx170 which seems to get very good reviews everywhere and seems well setup and looks good. Also, its a brilliant price. How are they?
Sorry to do this, but i am pretty settled on the peavey milestone 3 if anyone has any opinions on it.
r u goin to play with a pick, or your fingers, i recomend ibanez to all others, if u like slapping and popping the OLP is really good for that, aint the best finger bass, but ibanez r good all around basses
Oh right i didn't realise, i will be using both and slapping and popping will definately come into it. I'll have another look at the ibanez ones, but i heard their cheaper ones aren't good.
Quote by Jonny182