Page 1 of 2
Yeah I've been playing the guitar for 8 years and I can play songs like Wake me up when September Ends, Blood Stains, and American Idiot. I play live gigs with my friends Mike and Peter and we're kind of a big deal in our city. I've been practicing these songs so much that I practically got almost all of them down. We're all getting tired of playing these songs, any suggestions? Should I learn something new or what because I have no clue what to do anymore.
You have been playing for 8 years and that's all you play? American Idiot? No offense, dude, but I've been playing only 2 years, and I play stuff way more advanced than that.
Just focus on being as tight as you are with the band. It's better to play something simple as a band, where everyone knows what everyone else is doing, rather than having certain people doing very well in one part but while some other people don't do as great.
^me too, that's 8 years wasted for you....try Mr. Crowley also
Gear:

Ibanez SoundGear SR300DX Bass

Digitech BP200
8 years? youve gotta be ****ting me. sounds like stuff you should be able to play perfecly after 8 weeks (tops).
ya dude ive been playin for 6 months and that crap is just easy power chords and basic solos. try something like the trooper by iron maiden or electric eye by judas priest
DRAGONFORCE and Michael Angelo Batio > you
learn some green day. they are totally brutal.

oh wait...
Quote by Man_In_The_Box
learn some green day. they are totally brutal.
I think that he means that he has just owned a guitar for 8 years, not actually played for 8 years. I mean, that must suck to play 8 years and only play American Idiot...

Why are you asking for a challenge? I monkey could make up something more challenging than Green Day could ever put out. Just listen to any given song on the radio, and there is a 99% chance that it will be harder than Greenday.