I am going to buy a Schecter Hellraiser and until very recently was going to get one without a FR...but lately I have been thinking it might be kinda fun to have a FR to get some crazy sounds...I've never used one before so have no experience with them. I'm thinking why wouldn't I get one? The draw backs I have heard are it takes forever to change a string if you break one and FR's aren't good for drop tuning. are these statements true? will a FR just be a big headache? right now I don't change strings very often and really haven't broken one in a long time (I don't play live...I might at some point in the future but right now I don't...I guess if I do I could always use my current piece of poo guitar as a backup incase a string breaks) so I am not too concerned about the how much a pain in the ass changing strings would be (is it really a pain in the ass??). I do like to change tunings a fair amount however...will this pose a problem if I get a FR?? Also does the FR stay in tune or will I always be tuning up after using it for a little while? Is there any other things I should be aware of about a FR vs no FR?? thanks for any and all advice.
i just posted almost this exact same thread the other day. i dot play the bar bar but i might if i get it. it sorta depends on u though, if u have an extra hundred bucks to get the fr, then go ahead and get it. its better to have it and not use it than to not have it and wanta use it...
My Gear
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Peavey Valveking 112
Line 6 über-Metal Pedal

Quote by pwrmax
All you care about is looks? No wonder you have it hard.

Quote by srvflood
You can't have sex with her personality.
Quote by Cruehead666