Hi, I've been considering buying a new guitar and I finally decided on a telecaster (thanks to everyone who posted previously) but now another problem has arisen! Which telecaster should I buy??? There are so many, really my budget stretches to about £400 ($740, $820 CAD, ?590) so I think a standard is best but what the hell is the difference between them all?

What I really want to know is - is this guitar for me? I am an intermediate bedroom guitarist who will play anything but mainly rock/metal really. I would be playing it through a micro stack (Marshall MG15MSII), any advice people?!?!?
Last edited by Triggerishappy at Jun 22, 2006,
A Telecaster won't sound particularly good through a Marshall transistor. To me they are tube amp guitars, need the bright vibrant highs and bassy lows that can only be captured through a tube amp, a fender one for that matter.

I don't really think the guitar will be for you, especially without a humbucker, most sounds you will get will be uniquely clean, bright, twang sounds, more of a country or blues sound. The neck pickup is generally weak and low output, only for rhthym and doesn't sound good distorted/overdriven usually. If you try these out make sure to play it through your amp, or a Marshall MG atleast, don't let anyone selling it try to have you play it through a Fender Deluxe Reverb, because they will make the thing sparkle and it won't sound the same through a Transistor Marshall.