I'm new at this, so please dont make fun of me because I have no idea what i'm talking about.

I'm learning scales on Cyberfret.com.

According to the website

1. WWHWWWH is the pattern for notes in a major scale.

2.This is the pattern for every Major Scale
http://www.cyberfret.com/scales/primer/images/major-horizontal.gif

3. Also according to them, the notes in a Cmajor scales would be "CDEFGABC"

4. I tried this out.. and on the bottom string there is "B" note right beside of the root note on the bottom string. Someone help?
Yeah, the B is supposed to be there. The half step is only one fret, from A-2 to A-3
It just has a blank spot and then the bottom root C note though.. i'm confused. is the diagram wrong? the D on the right side top isn't there either
Quote by jeremy00
It just has a blank spot and then the bottom root C note though.. i'm confused. is the diagram wrong?

You're looking at it as a pattern rather than a scale. The pattern you have shows the notes in two octaves in a specific patten on the fretboard... that's not to say you can't use the B note on the E string, it's just not indicated as a part of that pattern.

You can use the notes C D E F G A B anywhere on the fretboard and still remain in the key of C... the pattern you have is just a cluster of notes arranged from C to C in two octaves. You'll find there's patterns all over the fretboard.

That's why seeing scales as patterns really isn't a good idea, you should view them as notes & intervals as opposed to these finger patterns you're supplied with. They help, yes - but ultimately you should aim towards seeing scales as notes all over the fretboard as opposed to just one restriced pattern.
Do you have any idea where i could get a lesson with scales as notes instead of just the patterns? Or even a thing that shows me what to practice?

Edit: So what your saying.. is the there is 6 roots in the Cmajor scale?
Last edited by jeremy00 at Jun 23, 2006,
Quote by jeremy00