I have played the electric guitar for about 3 years now. But I play almost everything by tab.
Recently I purchased a Washburn d10 acoustic-electric and I want to learn to play an acoustic.
Since I only currently play by tab, I was wondering what the best way to learn
would be(just memorizing chords, theory,etc.).

I have tried numerous theory guides but they all seem rather confusing to me.
By "playing acoustic" you mean playing chords? Hm, there for a sec I thought you were being retarded and saying that the electric and acoustic are different to play.

Not that I can be of any help... I play the same stuff on both.

[IN PHIL WE TRUST]

Quote by Trowzaa
I only play bots. Bots never abandon me. (´・ω・`)

I'm self taught..playing for about 7months now. I memorize stuff just by playing it over and over and practicing. Seems to sink in and its more of muscle memory.

How did you memorize stuff on your electric?>
Just try to memorize chords like i play the electric and i just started to play the acoustic i play everything by chords.
"VANDALISM: Beautiful As A Rock In A Cop's Face."
Kurt Cobain
just use tabs the give chord names like i do. i now know the Am, C, D, and G thanks to Wish You Were Here by Pink Floyd.

i just started learniong chords. leave me alone...
learn the chords C A Am G E Em and D. you can find them at lots of places. then learn a strumming pattern. i like (D=down, U=up) D DU UDU. now you just play the chords w/ that pattern. it takes a little while to get down. make sure that you sing normally and don't alter the speed that you are playing at, and as long as the song is 4/4 timing (almost every song) the end of the measure will come right where the chord change should happen. of course some songs have chords that change in the middle of the measure, but thats after you master this. with those chords, you can play a lot of songs.