I know that I probably do not need a half stack but I have always wanted one so I am going for it. After reading all the great info on this site I think all tube (valve) is the way to go. It is only for me playing in my garage, I do not gig (yet) and I have gotten my wife to agree to make that "my space" as my little studio. I am a beginner but love to play 80's style metal. I am trying to keep it around $1000. Is this possible for a head and cab? Also would prefer something that guitar center carries as I have a 20% off coupon from them. Hey this could save me a couple hundred bucks so I think it is worth it. Seems like any cabs would need to have Celestions as most people here think they are the best. Eddie Van Halen is my favorite guitarist so I was thinking about the Peavey 6505 head with a cab that has 4x12 celestions. I appreciate your input but please be kind as I am a beginner.

Thanks!
You may be better off going used unless you want to buy a combo. You won't be finding Peavey 6505's at guitar center because they don't carry Peavey's. I think that that amp would be good for you if you are going to be playing his type of music. Maybe check eBay. You could get a Peavey 5150 or 6505(same thing) combo for about $500 or $600. I know this is not a stack, but this is going to be loud as hell and you could always get a 212 extension cab. I am afraid that if you buy a stack, you aren't going to be putting it past 2 for practicing. I know that I just prefer a stack. I always wanted one just like you do. I have one and don't put it past 1 while practicing at my house. For band practice, it is still only at 6 and that is ear ringing loud. You could also maybe find a 5150 stack on eBay for about that price. I actually think I saw one earlier today. Check craigslist.org for them too. You could find one locally.