ok i've recently learned that alternate picking is the way to go. but when i try to play "Slither" by velvet revolver(the part where you hit two strings) i cant seem to get it sound right. my pick gets stuck for a split second which kinda makes it sound off and it also gets a bit tiring. ive practicing it for a couple days now and i dont seem to be improving. any words of advice?
practice it slowly. theres no short cut to alternate picking. no alternate way to do it. just good old fashion slow practice. and it may take a while, more then a couple of days, so be patient.
ive been working on alternate picking for 2 months on and off, ive gone from 80bpm 16ths to 120 bpm 16ths , it is slow and tedious, but well worth it.
Quote by hooblatots
ok i've recently learned that alternate picking is the way to go. but when i try to play "Slither" by velvet revolver(the part where you hit two strings) i cant seem to get it sound right. my pick gets stuck for a split second which kinda makes it sound off and it also gets a bit tiring. ive practicing it for a couple days now and i dont seem to be improving. any words of advice?

When you hit two strings? Are you saying hit two strings at the same time? I don't know if that's what you're trying to say, but alternate picking is a technique where you play one note at a time, not chords.
Quote by Necrofiend
What's the difference alt pick and tremolo pick

Tremolo picking is picking a single note repeatedly in quick sucession.
Quote by hooblatots

Start by separating your down pick & up pick.

Either motion should start 1/2 string spacing away and end up the same way.

Pick in the plane of the strings. If your pick is coming up & away from strings
you should correct it. When the pick remains in the plane, and you have control
to keep it 1/2 string spacing, you're pretty much ready to pick the next note.

If you are relaxed and pick "through" the string, the string will feel "elastic and