Page 1 of 2
I have been giving it some more thought and I am leaning more towards a SS half stack now. It is just for me playing in my garage and I am a newbie so honestly I do not really think that I will miss (or appreciate) the tube tone. Please do not flame me on this. I would rather buy a top end ss half stack than a low end tube half stack. Makes sense! Anyway I want something that has good quality built in effects, celestion speakers in the cab and at least 100 watts. I already know that the marshall mg's and crate are crap so they are off the list. Other choices may include b52, kustom or line 6. I like metal mostly and price is no problem.Thanks in advance for your KIND replies.
you probably wont need a halfstack. u know, 2x12's can get pretty loud
My Gear:
Fender Standard Strat w/Tex-mex pups
Epi Les Paul Jr.
Epi MM-20 mandolin
Yamaha FG-110
Boss SD-1
Boss BD-2
Dunlop Crybaby Wah
Digitech RP80
Fender FM212R
Epi Valve Junior

Check Me Out:
Me
I wouldn't say that top end SS and low end tubes overlap. . .

I would go for used tube. . .

But suit yourself. . . The line 6 will get you flamed. . .
Gibson SG Standard
Fender 52 RI Telecaster
'77 Deluxe Reverb
Sunface w/ SunDial
MXR Carbon Copy
Crybaby

Quote by Sid McCall
Epic win. He speaks the truth, boys and girls.

Founder of the Neutral Milk Hotel club PM to join~
Why a halfstack? And why a solid state half stack?
A valve halfstack or combo (despite if it's lower end) will sound better.

Go and play a load of nice valve combos, and then compare them to some SS half stacks, see what you think.
"Breathe, breathe in the air
Don't be afraid to care"

Fender Strat/Tokai LS80>few pedals>Orange Rocker 30
even low end tube-amps sound soo much better. I say.... get a nice tube combo off eBay. maybe a 30-50 watt 2x12 or 1x12. It will sound better, be louder, easier to lug around, and will last you forever where as with a solid state amp, you will grow tired of it. there are lots of inexpensive tube amps on eBay.