Hey guys, I've been playing guitar for about 2 years now and I'm looking for new techniques to break out of "conventional" rhythm patterns. I mostly play with a pick, but I'm (finally, I've been putting it off ) learning to fingerpick.

Anyone have any good advice on what artists I should listen to or any cool rhythm patterns to use that sound unique and interesting?

Thanks.
Takamine EG531SSC - "Kim"
Fender Mexican Stratocaster - "Jessica"
-Texas Special Pickups
Crate Palomino v16 Class A Tube Amp

Well it's floodin down in Texas
Listen to Rodrigo Y Gabriela. They're a Mexican acoustic guitar duo, and they've practically invented a new style of playing... combining flamenco with metal with loads of stuff... anyway, Gabriela does some really weird rhythms, kind of using triplets and slapping different parts of the guitar to get different sounds. A good song to start on is Tamacun.
Psycho Killer,
Qu'est-ce que c'est?
Fa fa fa faa fa fa fa fa-fa faa

Quote by Paul Brannigan
Pie is like bread, but just with more pie in it
a good fingerstyle website for lessons and artists/songs to check out would be http://www.acousticfingerstyle.com

here's a few songs for you to try out also:

the beatles - blackbird
led zeppelin - braun yr aur stomp
mason williams - classical gas (the best tab is labeled eric clapton)
kansas - dust in the wind
fleetwood mac - landslide