Afternoon fellas, ive had my guitar ( Ibanez RG321MH ) for about a month now and i remember my guitar tutor mentioning to me at my last lesson that i should change the guitar strings for new ones.

Are the strings you get with any new guitar of a lower quality than the ones you can buy? Ive had no problem with them so far and they sound fine to me, but then i am a beginner so i probably wouldnt tell the difference.

Should you also get a new guitar set-up professionally? The tutor was having a go with my guitar and he mentioned that some of the higher strings needed lowering as the action was too high. I have personally had to raise the action of both the E and A string as they would buzz around the 4/5th fret both when fretted and when played open.

Is it worth taking it somewhere so they can have a mess with it, or should i carry on with it as it is seeing how i think its ok?

Thanks

AdamC
If you like how it plays - keep it.

Don't be afraid to experiment though - raise the action, lower the action, change strings, de-tune strings - just experiment, play around with your instrument and find out what you like - not what your guitar teacher likes.

Once you've messed around with it and know what it is you want - take it to the shop and tell them how you'd like it set-up - and then it'll be professionaly set-up to your preference.
Change them.

Then you'll know what new strings sound like, and you'll be able to judge for yourself better when to change in the future.

You get nutcases who change their strings every week, but for most people it's either when they snap or about once every 4-6 weeks.
Populus vult decipi. Decipiatur.

Quote by Mistress_Ibanez
It's can be a contraction and genitive case.

Quote by Mistress_Ibanez
If you cut down on these costs students won't learn so well, effecting the "quality"...
Sounds like your teacher is trying to drum up business for a shop. . .
Gibson SG Standard
Fender 52 RI Telecaster
'77 Deluxe Reverb
Sunface w/ SunDial