I got some Ernie Ball Regular Slinky strings for my guitar, because two of the old ones snapped and were all generally worn out.

Thing is, now I have these new strings on, my fingertips are hurting, just like they used to when I first played.

Is this normal, because maybe it's because they're different materials, but I just wanted to check to make sure im not crazy.
Quote by ghostmouse859
youre not crazy, just a beginner.

Heh.
I've been playing my guitar for nearly 8 months now, so I thought I was crazy.
A year before that I was playing acoustic casually.

I've already got calluses, and that made me wonder why it started to hurt again.
These new strings are nickel wound, but I have no idea what the old strings were made of. I just hoped it was due to the change in material.
Were the old ones like, nylon?

or gut?

LOL
Gibson SG Standard
Fender 52 RI Telecaster
'77 Deluxe Reverb
Sunface w/ SunDial
MXR Carbon Copy
Crybaby

Quote by Sid McCall
Epic win. He speaks the truth, boys and girls.

Founder of the Neutral Milk Hotel club PM to join~
Quote by hamish5178
Were the old ones like, nylon?

or gut?

LOL

Lmao, they were definately not gut.

I think they must have been nylon, because they sounded very much like nylon.

So im assuming that the reason i need more calluses is because nickel is harder than nylon?

It might seem a silly question but please put me out of my misery, while I type this with aching fingertips.

Quote by azn_guitarist25
what guitar are the new strings on

It's one of those crappy Fender Stratocaster rip offs that everyone has.
lol u r a n00b!!!! nylon on an electric? he said it's regular slinkys so it's electric.
strat player forever.
I switched to Ernie Ball Regular Slinkies about 2 months ago and I never had any problems. I've been playing for nearly 4 years though.

2001 Fender MIM Stratocaster
1987 Fender F-210 Acoustic
Partscaster (in progress)

Traynor YCV40
Ibanez TS-9
Ibanez AD-9
MXR M-108
EHX Metal Muff
Boss NS-2

WTB: