So I walked into the room the other day and my dad was sitting in front of the TV with the guitar and watching some show and whenever there was music in the show, after a couple tries he could play it back perfectly so I was all like woah how do you do that and he said that he hears the chords.

Then, at piano lessons, I forget what we were talking about but he told me to try to learn a song by ear by the recording, cause you'll get better at it and transcriptions can be wrong.

Since then I've been trying to learn songs by ear, but I'm not very good at finding it on the fret board...and I can't imagine ever learning a solo by ear note for note... I've gotten the enter sandman entro, the heartbreaker riff, and just the chords for fall to pieces by velvet revolver, trying not to cheat by looking up tabs. Then, I thought I had the Black Dog Riff but it was at the wrong place on the fretboard when I checked it with tabs...

(sorry this was so long_
Does anyone have any tips for learning things by ear, or any easy songs you can pickout the notes to?
Quote by Roc8995
Thin necks make you play faster because guitars with thin necks sound thin and bad, and you play fast to distract people from the bad tone.
figuring out power chords are pretty easy and good to start on
Originally posted by tylerishot
There is no reason that taking advantage of a drunk chick is acceptable. You can, however, beat them up, and tell them they fell down the stairs.
practice practice practice, try transcibing the sweet home alabama intro for practice
MY gear
Vintage v100 les paul.
POS Ion strat
Vox ad50vt
15 watt practice amp
Ibanez rg570