i've been playing guitar for a couple months now, and i absolutely suck. i have pretty small hands, so I can barely strum; so i have to learn how to play crappy songs that only have picking in it. that is where i got an idea, should i switch to bass? i've been thinking about this for a few days now, and i really don't know what to do. my sisters boyfriend plays guitar and bass and he doen't think it's such a good idea. that brings up another problem seeing as how i have small hands i would not be able to fret right and it will sound lame. so can someone give me some advice on what i should pick?
well, what kind of music do you like playing?
Catcher In The Rye Is One Of The Best Books Ever Club

member #1 of the jim belushi club
Bass fretboard is bigger, Try getting a smaller scale fretboard.
Amp:
Fender Blues Jr (GH1230 Celestion Speaker)
Pedals
Barber DD
Wilson WH-10 Clone
Ibanez WH10 V2

Pitchblack Tuner
Boss DD-3
Guitars: 06' Custom Fender Strat Lindy Fralin Blues Specials, Callaham Tremolo
09' Olympic White Stratocaster
yeah when i started bass i had small hands so it was real hard for me to frets but now its 2 years later and my hands aera lot better i can play bass with ease and guitar easy too
Ibanez GSR190 Bass
Ibanez IBZ10B amp

Ibanez GAX30
Boss DS-1 Distortion
I don't think having small hands will necessarily hold you back. I have pretty small hands too. If you practice enough and get used to fingering chords and stuff like that (I had an awful time with chords at first), having small hands won't be a problem. Trust me, I was going through similar problems when I was starting out. Once you practice and get a good feel for it, you'll have it down 100%.
But yeah, getting a smaller scale fretboard wouldn't be such a bad idea either.