My brand new Schecter Omen 6.

I changed the strings from 10s to 9s. Now it wont stay in Tune.
I am no pro at this but I have been changing strings for over 10 years. But I have never changed the size of my strings.

It came to me out of tune, but I really didn't play it enough with the 10s on it to see if it would stay in tune with those.

Do I need to adjust the truss rod??? I have never done that and have heard I could damage my guitar by doing this.

Any thoughts.

Thanks!!
All that truss rod damaging your guitar stuff is crap, it's just something guitar shops say to scare you into getting a proffesional set up. Just give it about a full turn and see if that helps, if not give it a few turns in the other direction.
Quote by pigglesworth
All that truss rod damaging your guitar stuff is crap, it's just something guitar shops say to scare you into getting a proffesional set up. Just give it about a full turn and see if that helps, if not give it a few turns in the other direction.

Holy crap, full turn? I don't think you will need ot do that unless you are going from like .007 to .016
Thanks for the replies. I do know better than to make large adjustments. I have read that you turn it from 1/16 to 1/4 of a turn at a time. Then wait a while and re-tune and test and measure.

SO you guys think I need to tighten my truss bar up since I have lighter strings on it now??

OR Loosen IT??

Thanks!!
Last edited by vanzant38 at Jun 30, 2006,
^ thats probably it.
when i got my omen, i played it with the stock strings till they got too firty to play. then i switched to .09's, and for a day or so it wouldnt hold tune either. once the strings are stretched out, itll hold tune good. mine holds tune great.
back in the day I used to boil my strings before putting them on, it was supposed to pre-stretch them out or sometheng.
Quote by CunningLinguist
back in the day I used to boil my strings before putting them on, it was supposed to pre-stretch them out or sometheng.