Hey, I'm new at posting here, I always just read. I have a question, (this may sound very noobish) but I have been playing for like 8 months, and now I am starting to notice that some of the greatest players ever play or played power chords in a different way I do.

(the numbers are the fingers not the frets)

I REPEAT- the numbers are the FINGERS, not the FRETS

Also, the first chord it's when the root of the power chord it's formed in the E string. The second power chord is when it's root is in the A string

The X on the E,B,G strings doesn't mean they are muted, just means they're not played. I put them because if I didn't, the last note from the other powerchord would've passed to the first one.

When I started, here's how I did them:

E|X
B|X
G|X 3
D|3 3
A|3 1
E|1 X

(Kurt Cobain for example)

This is how I do them now (this is what I'm comfortably with)

E|X
B|X
G|X 3
D|4 4
A|3 1
E|1 X

(I think Eric Clapton plays power chords like this)

And this, is the most used example I've seen in live videos of the best guitarists:

E|X
B|X
G| X 4
D|4 4
A|4 1
E|1 X

(Kirk Hammet, James Hetfield, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai .. a lot more)

Another, unusual, but used is:

E|X
B|X
G|X 2
D|2 2
A|2 1
E|1 X

It would be like a poll, which of these do you use ?

Ok, the thing I want to know is: which shape do you think I should get used to ? Should I stick to mine or any other ? and why ?
Last edited by l0ft at Jul 2, 2006,
well a "power chord" is a name for all chords you wrote i think, they can differe in many ways but the basic power chord/fith chord are what you play, thats because you use the first note and then add the fifth
Schecter C1 Classic
Fender Vintage -57 Ri Stratocaster
Fender Blues JR w/ 12"Cannabis Rex
Mad Professor Sky Blue OD
Wampler Ego Compressor
TC Electronics Stereo Chorus/Flanger