I have basically no limit on money, but less then 500 USA is best bet. Should I get a starter pack? Or a bass and a n amp sepretly? Which ones? Make, model, brand, etc...
I just bought a new Ibanez GSR200 Flame Maple for $165 (normally around $265) and a new Ashdown EB180 15" combo for $260 (normally around $350). I'm new to bass (been playing guitar for about 4 years, however), but I found these two to be of the best value. The Ibanez seems to play very fast and sounds good and the Ashdown sounds great (to my ear, at least) and is plenty loud (180 watts). Just shop around. Once you find something you like, you can usually talk the price down a bit.
I know a mouse and he hasn't got a house
I don't know why I call him Gerald
He's getting rather old, but he's a good mouse
An Ibeanez is outta the quesition... My store doesn't carry them. They carry everything but Ibeanez....
If you can, buy an SX bass.... http://www.rondomusic.net You will find that all the reviews say they are much better than most other beginner basses.

If you are planning on playing in a band, check out an SWR LA12 amp. That will give you enough volume to play with a drummer.

Dictator For Life of the fIREHOSE fANCLUB. PM Me, Tedrick, or Yertle to join.
Yeah. I'm going to be gigging fairly soon after I start.
get a squier p-bass to begin and later on all other basses will make you love playing bass!
bananabananabanana terracotta banana terracotta terracotta *pie*

Quote by Bmm386
I think they should make a GTA paris in like 1795.
Your only goal is to feed your family and keep your horse alive.

Quote by I-AM-NOT-GOD
it hit the twin towers, not the pentagon, idiot