I have been playing guitar for about 4 years and only using the one guitar, a cheap beginner one. So as you can imagine, it is in a right state and i am after a new guitar. It doesnt sound the same since i first bought it, and i knew it would happen and finally the time has come to get a new one. I am a 14 year old, so my budget is tight! I like playing heavy stuff like metallica, god forbid, megadeth, and so i would be looking for a guitar which could cater for these needs. I know it is not entirely down to the guitar itself, and that amps and pedals etc come into the equation but this is the sound i am after so if anyone could please recommend a few guitars they feel are up to the job, i would be very grateful.
I would say just for guitar, and in USD roughly $900. Just checked out your guitar - nice! But something like that is out of my budget for now - at least until i get a job.
Yea thanks! Im 14 too, but I have a job and stuff so I make a little and have a little in the bank. You can look at Godins. I have the Freeway Classic in Trans-Blue. Its a beautiful guitar and plays great. It took me a while to play a guitar that felt as nice as it. And it only cost me $300-400, leaving you some money for a pretty nice amp. If you want a tremelo/whammy bar, it has one, but its not that great. It was my second guitar. If you are leaning more towards a guitar for metal, look at schecters. The Schecter C-1 is nice. Also Ibanez RGs are nice. I dont really like the plain look of some of them, but they are great guitars.
I'm 15 years, and I own a Gibson Les Paul Standard... I dont know if that guitar is anything for you who play metallica and that kind of stuff, but a friend of mine has got a Gibson Flying V. He is a big fan of metallica, and the guitar both looks and sounds great for metall their not that expensive either... Im from norway, so i dont know what they cost in the U.S or the U.K so you'll have to find out that on your own :P
Gibson Les Paul Standard