A hoi hoi,

I am new to the forums, and I have been playing guitar for about 8 months, I too went through the Ashton guitar phase. So for the past two months I've been searching for a new guitar.

I originally wanted to get an Epiphone G-400, but my friend have one and its nice and all, but I dont want to get the same as he has (if you get what I mean?) but the other day during my holiday travels, I went into a music store and had a play on the Squire Tele Thinline master, it sounded pretty good unplugged as well as plugged in. I was using a Marshall 100 Amp (I don't know the model number sorry) which is probably why it sounded so good as well.

I had a look at the specs when I got home and noticed it had Duncan pickups, I ebayed duncan pickups to see if they were any good, I got a hits ranging between $100 and $600 so I thought they must have been good. I then asked my friend what he thought of Squire's and he said that they were all terrible guitars. I had a look on here and found the Squire FAQ and also saw that they were crap.

Seeing that thread, I searched for an alternative, the Epiphone Archtop series, seeing as though my budget is pretty tight, working at KFC part time and all, I don't have that much money.

I'm looking to spend at the maximum of $750AUD, on a semi electric guitar.

Has anyone had any experience playing either of these guitars? And would someone be able to reccomend which one is better please?
Which Epi? What styles of music do you play? What amp do you have?
There once was a man who really loved salt
So he tied his nose to the sea
And then God came down from his silver throne
And said, 'Honey, that water ain't free
what style of music do you play. If you are looking for an ecclectic guitar a strat style is the way to go... if all you want to do is shred... then you may need to be looking elsewhere.