its a bit late to ask now, but ill go ahead.

We're playing metallica in my school band. Im a rythm guitarist, and the vocalist is... well.. quite frankly, ****. Its not that hes a, well, bad singer, but he hasn't gone for singing lessons. He doesn't sing out his diaphram, he vibratos the whole thing, drags certain bits out so the vocals start to sound like its a reggae song... And when he's not doing that, he tries to impersonate James Hetfield. Now, he says he's not, and that he's being himself. Alls good and well. It would be good if he could, say, sing the song properly and like how it's supposed to be sung, but he's say, maybe, three octaves higher (ok, I exaggerate, one octave) than Hetfield. Today, he sang enter the sandman, and vibrato'd the hell out of it until it sounded, erm..... lets just say it hurt the song pretty bad Ok, butchered it.

He can't growl either, and I KNOW I can do a better job than he can. Even if its just the bits where the guy growls alot. The thing is, the last time I tried to sing (about a year ago), everyone who was around me died

So heres my problem, I want to sing as well, but nobody will take me seriously, and even if they did, I'm afraid I'll hurt the guy heaps, even if he is a bastard to me.

And my second problem: I'm kinda needed in the Rythm guitar section, and yet I want to sing.... I can't play and sing at the same time. I can if its something simple, like some cheesy greenday songs, but when it comes to stuff like master of puppets, no way

So, are we stuck with a decision, that says either:

A) good rythm guitarists, **** singer, or
B) Good singer, one less rythm guitarist making things harder to play.