I've been playing bass for about 2 years, and I've just started to be fairly decent at slapping on the E string, but when I try to slap on the A, I always hit the E involuntarily. Any tips on technique that I could use?
Oh crap!
Muting the E with your fretting hand thumb will hinder your ability to fret properly - it is a shortcut which i do not recommend. Your thumb should be on the back of the neck, generally behind your 2nd finger. Slapping is no different.

The better way to mute is with the palm of your slapping hand and, as Delerium said, have your hand parallel to the strings.

A good practice is to slap the E and A and pop the D and G, all as OPEN notes. Use your left hand to mute the strings before you play the next one. But DO NOT fret a note. This will get you good at muting, and teach you how to palm mute the E string. Do be fooled...it's not easy and takes practice. Getting good at slapping takes months and months, even years for proper, flawless technique. Take your time, do things right and you will bass-slapping mofo in a couple of years.

To many people put emphasis on power when slapping - a good slap bass player needs the slightest of movements to sound a note. There is another thread where someone mentions Bruce Lees "One Inch Punch" and this is a good example of generating power without massive movement, much like slapping.

When i have some time, i am going to write up a lesson on learning how to slap. There isn't a good one here - not what i would call good anyway.

BB
x
Gear Lists Are For Boys Who Masturbate Too Much.
Last edited by bassbitch at Jul 7, 2006,
https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=198631

one of the very first things it goes into is this problem. We need a FAQ... I'll get to it tonight probably.
Quote by casualty01
the RIAA can't shut us down, interpol can't shut us down. the U.S. gov't can't shut us down and CERTAINLY not YOU can shut us down.

BA in Music theory
MusicMan Bongo, SUB -> Orange Terror 1000 stack