Just had an 81 and 85 put in my Explorer but was wonderin about a 60 in the neck.
Anyone got one? What they like? Ive heard there supposed to be simular to a single coil?
ive played on them, but dont own any, personally i'm a lead guitarist, and dont like the midrange crunch that they give. it's very James Hetfield-esque, so if you like the way James sounds, then you'll probably like them. I like the way Kerry King and Kirk Hammett sound, so that's why i use 81s
Was thinkin bout the 60 for the neck. Thought Hetfield used the 60 in the neck and the 81 in the bridge but used the 81 most of the time?
Quote by pierce34celtic
81/85 combo with 81 bridge and 85 neck?

Thats what ive just had put in but without the gain boost that kerry king has
Cool, thats what I was after really. Just to use the neck 60 for clean and solo. Might get one when I get paid and stick it in. Cheers
seperately they cost me £180 but thats including fitting. Think the Kerry King set is the same but with the gain boost. Im unsure wether its the EMG afterburner or something different. You can buy them for around £35 I think.
The 60 is by far the better neck pickup for cleans. I've had both the 85 and 60 in my LTD EX351 and Agile AL-3000, and the 60 is a big improvement. I'll be getting a 60 for the neck of my ESP Explorer soon.
Guitars: Custom Lado Earth 2000-3, Custom ESP Explorer, BC Rich KKV, Gibson LP Studio, Greco SG, El Degas Stratocaster, Agile AL-3000, LTD EX-351

Rig:Marshall JVM410H + Marshall 1960A, Boss Noise Suppressor
I think the 81 is great for a slayer kinda sound. If your gonna keep it heavy all the time I'd stick with the 85 in the neck and 81 in the bridge but I want something a little more versatile and cleaner so think im gonna get the 60. Wanna buy an 85? ! ! !
Last edited by jonnyguitarman at Jul 7, 2006,