ihav been playing guitar for almost 2 and a half years now and am a solid rhythm guitarist.. i am entirely self taught and proud of it!! but i now want to progress into lead and am looking for advice..

1. where should i start?
2. what techniques should i learn first?
3. are scales REALLY nesscary and what 1s should i start with?

any other advice would really be appreciated.. thanks
I have only been playing for 1 and a half years and i am also a solid rhythm guitarist and i wanted to learn lead. The first thing u need to do if u already havnt is get a good understanding of theory this way u can improvise when u r more advanced.
After theory i learned all the techniques i could, hammers-pulls, tapping, sweeping, legato and all other stuff but u must learn theory, this way u can practice ure techniques because by goin up and down scales not only r u learning that certain scale but u r also practising ure picking. Then when u get ure pickin down u try something that u r not as good at say legato, spend time getting this down but also not forgetting the stuff u have already learned(a practise schedual is probaly in need here now) then go onto sweeping and do the same until u think u are satisfied enough with ure knowledge to do some of ure own stuff.

In order of what techniques to learn first i would do this;
1. practising picking(i dont know what style u play but i think if u want to play brilliant lead lik sweeping and stuff this will help)by going up and down scales or any exercises u can think of(this would apply to any style).
2. Legato, not much i can say here but to make this easier practise hammering and pulling-off.
3.Then sweeping i think sweeping is made easier or at least it was for me by doing the legato first because it made my hand more fluent and when there are hammer ons and stuff in the sweep legato helps.