I can't get my floyd any lower and the action is still too high. could i put a slab of wood between the heel of the neck and the neck slot to boost it up a little, or maybe put in a wedge to tilt it back? if so, which would work better?
well, i dont know if you should do anything without consulting a pro( i'm not) but i would think a wedge would be better for it, but, dont rely on me, i'm no pro.
Quote by Preid
plants are basicly sex organs on stems, pollen is airbourn jizzum.

So all us hayfever suffers are allergic to plant jizz...
The action on my Squier sucked and was too high (big surprise), so I put a thin piece of cardboard under it and it was enough to make the action lower and it now plays much better.
Guitars
Schecter C1 Blackjack
Fender Standard Strat (w SD JB Humbucker in bridge)
Squire Strat
Amps
Marshall TSL 60 Head
1960A Cab
Line 6 Spider II 112
Rack
Korg DT-1 Tuner
DBX Compressor
BBE Sonic Maximizer
Try adjusting your truss rod, that should lower the action
Quote by spazzymagee417
i would pay more for a midget corpse than an average size corpse
dont adjust the truss rod unless needed to. what you want is called a neck shim and theyre are different ways of doing it. btw what guitar is this on?
Fender makes wood shems that are .040, .050, and .063 inches thick. If you are in a hurry then you could always shim with construction paper like somebody else mentioned but paper shims might have a notable affect on tone so you would probably want to eventualy get the fender shims.

edit: couldn't you just tighten the springs on your floyd rose?
Not taking any online orders.
Last edited by CorduroyEW at Jul 9, 2006,
thanks for your responses. the guitar is a strat-style. i don't think the neck needs a truss adjustemnt. from what i know the truss rod adjusts the bow of the neck. the floyd is recessed and it's already pretty well sunken into it. if i tighten the springs it will only tilt the bridge backwards.