Hey guys/girls just aftera couple of opinions. Ive been playing guitar for about 2 years now (pick it up occassonally and strum some tunes). I have nevr really dedicated myself to it and had formal lessons from a teacher for oly a couple of months. Im at a point know where i want to learn more about the guitar (scales, theory, **** like that.) I want to know is it best to have a teacher or are there decent books you can learn from. Problem is i live in county and is hard to find a teacher. I believ i have the dedicaion to move further know, so what do you guys think. Are there any books you can reccomend or anything.
A teacher would be your best bet.

As far as books go, John Petrucci's Rock Discipline book totally kicks ass in all areas. I've read in interviews many times that guitarists use it as a warm-up before shows.

ChopsFromHell.com has some great instructionals in all areas, as well as the CFH instructionals themselves.

And of course this site.
Teacher all the way, make sure you have a teacher with a music degree though, not just someone whos pretty good. My fav quote i've read on UG is

"If everyone could get amazing from simply looking up tabs on he internet, we would have a million Vai's"
50th Anniversary American Deluxe Strat 3-tone Sunburst
Crate XT120r Amp
Epiphone Valve Jr. w/ Jensen P8r
Boss DS1
Digitech RP300 MultiFX
You could try to get a teacher.

UG has a lot of good theory lessons. You just have to take some time out and research them.
Most of the important things

in the world have been accomplished

by people who have kept on

trying when there seemed to be no hope at all
You could go either way and be fine, but with a Teacher you will excel faster, where as with a book or video your progress will be hindered a little as you will not always have someone there to help with any questions you may have.
Quote by Shredlet
Cheers Sinister that was really helpful a Dime-point to you!