I've been playing on and off for 4 years now (more like not playing for 4years, but occasionally learning a song or two), which averages out to probably a few months of playing.

I currently have:

Peavey Raptor Plus Guitar
Peavey Rage 158 Amp
Black Coffee Danelectro Distortion Pedal

I recently got heavily into guitar again, and went ahead and bought "Troy Stetina's" book for metal and speed playing.

It was then that I realized that my sound utterly sucked. I can play his songs and examples perfectly, tone, pitch, the works without any distortion, but the moment I turn on that pedal everything goes to hell.

So my question is: is there something wrong with my setup, or is distortion supposed to be 10 times harder to play than normal ampage?

I need to know if I'm supposed to practice with no distortion, so I can get my guitar skills down and then move on to more complex things, or if I should concenrate working on making the distortion sound good.

do you see what I mean thougH? I don't want to work on making distortion sound good if it turns out to be something set-up like, which makes it so I practiced for nothing. I want to get better.

Please help me out here. Any insight would help.

Thanks,

Frank
To give some insight, I'm heavily into metallica, pantera, and anything else heavy, fast, and aggressive.

Frank
Well, using distortion has nothing to do with your playing ability, it just sounds better in situations. But, on to your question being whether or not to concentrate on it: If you can play a passage or song perfectly while on clean (non-distorted), that is what you should be going for. "Some" people use distortion to mask your bad playing. It can either mask or emphasize your playing. The danelectro, though I've never used that specific pedal, isn't the greatest distortion pedal ever, and will probably make it seem as though your playing is bad. My advice is to get something even as cheap as a boss ds-1 distortion pedal if you want decent distortion.