so ive been playing a les paul for about a 6 months now, and its badass, but today at practice i started playing my friends strat for the first time in forever, cus i used to have one. and i couldnt believe how light it was. you could jump around and swing it and stuff like nothing. do you think it really makes a difference, or is it just something you have to get used to?
i've had a les paul for just abit longer than you, and i did the same with my mates strat the other day.

and... yeah its much easier to throw it around simply cos its so much lighter. i prefer the strat feel as i think that i can move more with it than i can with an LP, which is why my next guitar is a strat.

as for getting used to it... hmmm, i dunno. i wouldn't dare throw the LP around as much because it feels that it'll likely break or plumet to the floor cos it weights so much.
ya, it sucks, my straps are always falling off cus its so damn heavy. and dont get me started on the prices of strap locks these days.
Strap locks aren't THAT expensive. In fact, I got mine for half the price, cos the supplier bought them in 'bulk' and sold them without packages.

Trust me, it's worth your 20 dollars if your strap keeps falling off.
strap locks are like ten bucks.
and yea i was playing a les paul supreme, i hated the fact i couldnt lift it. ok i could lift it but it felt like a chore. i use a mm1 OLP wich is a solid beginer guitar. its a bit base heavy nothing like a les paul though but after playing that playing a strat is like love. i want a strat knockoff for cheap just for the difference. in feel.
when i play my old strat, its like i can control the whole thing and hold it up with my left hand alone, with the les paul its dragging down on my shoulders and stuff a lot. its really pissing me off. and when you do a bigass jump off something it flys up and stuff lol. any techniques to make it easier? cus lots of bands seem to be able to still go crazy with les pauls.