Ehy everyone, im a huge n00b to this forum so bear with me.

I have been playing bass for aroudn 6 months now and im no superstar and im wondering, How does one "get good" on bass?

So far the only way of learning I have had is reading tabs and going by that...which is all I can do really (I can sound out alot of songs now too, and pick up how to play the song pretty easily too).

I know there is slapping and all these techniques....Which im not sure about.

So my questions really, does anyone have any info as to slapping effectively?
What abotu harmonics and sclaes and such? I have never leanred about those, etc.

Any basics would be great, thanks anyone :P
Finding a local guitar/bass teacher would be good for learning your theory. For technique, just make sure you're doing it correctly at first and then just practice practice practice until it hurts.
The Damned Blue Collar Tweeker of the Primus Sucks club. PM StratEnRegalia to join.

Flickr

Quote by Tad Walters
11th chords are for fags.
Ive been playing bass for a couple of years now and harmonics arnt that important. Slapping is kinda hard when you first start but when you get goin its easy.If youd like to try a harmonic on your bass take a finger and put it on the side of the 12 fret on your g string ( the tiny one) then pluck. you should hear a noise that dosent sound liek a normal note. Most of your dotted frets can be harmonics too. As for slapping Its kinda hard to explain so try looking for a site. As for scales they are very easy and If you want to learn tons more I suggest seeking out a bass teacher at a local music store.
work on your Timing. Trust me. USe a metronome. Timing makes a world of difference. Plus It will force you to play smoother, because u'll have to start slow and u'll see your errors
e -------15^1-
b ----13-------
g -14----------
Quote by Jyag
Ive been playing bass for a couple of years now and harmonics arnt that important.

WHAT!!!!! have you ever heard Potrait of Tracy?!?!?