Page 1 of 2
Hey guys, I made the terrible mistake of purchasing a Marshall MG30DFX about a year ago. Now I'm a HUGE Zakk Wylde fan, he's a big influence in my music. I've seen TONS of YouTube videos of pinch harmonics and I've been working on them since I started playing a year ago, and I can't seem to nail them like everybody else is. Now I think I've got the technique down...can it be because of my hardware? I've got a Jackson WRMG Warrior, a Zoom 505II multi-effect pedal and the MG30DFX. I was wondering if I were to purchase, let's say, a JCM800 would it really affect my pinch harmonics? Cause right now they're crap.

Please help!
I've got a Vox Pathfinder 10 watt buzzy sounding amp, and I have no problems with pinched harmonics.

Turn up the gain, use your bridge pickup and turn the tone knob to 10. Then once you get the right technique, try it with the neck pickup etc.
yeah just crank your gain and make sure you have a decent amount of high end going. if you have it down really good you can even do it on an acoustic... you'll barly be able to hear it and there no real point but it's doable.
no its not the amp ive got the MG30CD and i can do them fine on it
[member of UG's Slide Player Legion
PM Shedmeiser101 to join if your feelin dem blues
yep if you could practice them on an acoustic guitar cos theyre easier to hit the p.h on them and you can improve by knowing which places you can and cant hit the harmonics
Maybe, because I have a marshall avt100 and my harmonic sound pretty good and when I go at my friend's house, I play with his mg30 and the harmonics doesnt sound pretty good.
dont blame it on your equipment. if you learn to do pinch harmonics on crappy equipment, when you upgrade to better gear itll sound that much better.

its not just the picking technique, but also the position over the pickups so you get the harmonic at the right point of string vibration.