Alright, i want to change my pickups in my Jackson RR3, because the super distortion in the bridge just isnt working for me. its far too muffled. I was considering buying a tonezone, but then thought about buying the Zakk Wylde EMG 81/85 set. Any suggestions would be helpful. i also want to know, if i buy the EMGs would the battery fit in the control cavity?
EVH
The Duncan Distortion has less bass and more treble than the Dimarzio SuperD with the same high output, or you can go all treble with an EMG81

thats the drawback to a RR in finding a spot for the battery
well i really like to focus on my mids, thats why i have hesitation with EMG's cuz my friend has a ESP edwards with both 81's and it sounds real weak to me.. it seems like your my man when it coems to questions, maybe i should just ask you from now on.
EVH
Thanks Ive been playing since 1982 and have owned over 20 electrics with alot of different pickups in my quest for tone. I dont have much exp with the new breed of pups like Evolutions, Breeds, etc. so I try to help from what I know. Ive owned SD Invaders, Dimarzio SuperD's, Duncan Distortion, JB, 59, jazz, CustomCustom, Gibson PAF, 490R, 498T, 500T, EMG 81, 89, 85, SA singles, S singles, Ibanez V7, V8, IBZ INF Pro, Ibanez QM1, QM2(which suprisingly I think Im keeping in my bubinga top S), Tone Zone (muddy and not quite enough output for me), stock USA Dean (in a snakeshin 1 hum metal strat), stock Aria Pro in a Billy Gibbons ZZ Custom, USA Fender strat singles, Jackson actives from the 80s in a neck thru USA Charvel model 6, and prob some more. Bare Knuckles and Swinesheads seem to get rave reviews here but being british pups I havent had the chance to play any.