Yeah so like.. I would ask 'Corwinoid'.. as you guys know him.. (I think that's how it's spelt?) this question on MSN, but he's away right now and presumed asleep. Instead of waiting for him to wake up (damn non-Aussies!) I thought I'd just ask and see if someone here knows the answer.

Anyway.. in music.. we all know what a sequence is, right? Anyway.. there is a certain type of element applied in classical (I use classical as a loose term to imply anything including baroque.. romantic.. etc) and modern forms of music (i.e. pseudo-neo classical metal, some pop, etc) that has a certain sound to it. The reason I cited the fact that it is used in modern forms of music is because it is the use of this particular element that makes people stop in their tracks whilst listening to someone like Paul Gilbert and say "wow.. that sounds like something from a classical piece".

For a long time, I kept hearing aforementioned element in various pieces I studied in music class and during choir (i.e. Vivaldi.. Bach.. Mozart.. Tarrega.. etc), and it always puzzled me, as I couldn't quite put my finger on how it was created! Then, one day, I _literally_ stumbled upon it completely by chance. When I was working on a progression based on the song "Carnival" (not sure of the composer) I had a chord progression that consisted of chords that I won't reveal to you yet. Huzzah! I had done it.. and by having made the chords myself, I could clearly see what was happening to make that sound!

All of a sudden, when I would look at music for the pieces I had listed previously, I would magically see the music doing what I could never put my finger on before (funny how that works, isn't it?).

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you a MIDI of said element:

http://www.yousendit.com/transfer.php?action=download&ufid=959C5D34492CF8A7
(Please excuse cheesy MIDI... the actual element starts at about 5~7)

Suddenly the mystery was solved!

..Or was it?