I'm fairly new to learning scales, and was wondering what scales are most often used in Classic Rock and Hard Rock solos and leads. Any feedback and advice would be much appreciated.
pentatonic, minor or major :p
Founder Of The "Jimmy Page Stole All Of My Potential Riffs" Club PM To Join!.

Quote by CoreysMonster
Meh, I usually just buy them off the local shaman, unless I'm in the wilderness, where I rely on raw meat to raise my HP.
Definately pentatonic. That's the most basic scale in rock/metal. If you're just beginning pentatonics are wat you should learn.

They're easy, fun, and it's easy to create your own riff or lick.

There's a whole lesson on it.
Member of the 'Guitarists Born In 1991' Club. PM Greendayguitar, gdm09 or blues_rocker to join.

-Gibson LP Classic
-Fender American Standard Strat
-Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue
-Peavey XXX w/Marshall Cab
Yeah, I've basically got pentatonics down, and I've watched the video lesson on it. Any other suggestions? Cause there's a local band in Baltimore that has a great lead guitar player, and while he was still in his former band he recorded one song in particular with a great solo, and I guess I want that Garage Hard Rock Bluesy band kinda sound in my solos. Somewhat of an Aerosmith meets Guns 'n' Roses, classy style with a dirty sound.

Any other ideas? I' pretty good with my B, C, and F major and minor blues scales, and I was wondering if there were some interesting scales I could throw into the mix to spice it up.
Any of the major modes, really. There aren't really genre-specific scales here... every genre can use every scale.
Looking for my India/Django.
Quote by redwing_suck
Any of the major modes, really. There aren't really genre-specific scales here... every genre can use every scale.

Yeah, that's true. But, I guess I'm not really asking what other bands use, rather than scales that go well together. But, I guess they all go together if you know how to use.