Hi, i've been playing guitar for about half a year now and i'm still getting alot of pain in my fingers when playing songs with alot of bends and such. i can only play till it hurts so bad its not fun playing anymore, and thats like after 1 hour and i would like to play 3+ hours. i have calluses but it just doesnt help...

what to do
PSN name = Barmanation
Are you pressing down a bit too hard? And what strings do you use? Tune your guitar down a bit, that's what I do sometimes and it helps a bit. But then again I'm just starting out and I don't even have callouses. Yet.
Yeah, you probably just play to hard. If you're using stupidly thin strings like 8s then try moving to 10s; if you get the pains when bending n stuff and you're using heavy strings try 9s or 8s.
Quote by sprkidjar
i'll give you a rimjob.

Ibanez RGT 42 DX FM TLF
Crate GT1200 Half-stack
Boss GT8
orangeacid.net

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Put him in your signature and help
(")_(") him on his way to world domination.
One item I always used was Vegetable oil. You take a cloth, soak it with some oil, and lube over the strings, fretboard, and the back of the neck. It feels so much better. Course, does'nt matter what oil you use, Vegetable is just what I always have on hand. You can also buy actual lubricant spray at most guitar shops. It feels good on the fingers, makes it way easier to play faster, and prolongs string life. In the end, keep playing, it takes some months to build up good callouses.
Squire Strat
Line 6 30 Watt Amp
No effects, all evil....
Big problem with most people is they play with light gauge strings and press down to hard...learn to play lighter (which can help with speed) or buy heavier gauge strings.
Gear
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top w/ Seymour Duncans
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plain Top w/ Dimarzios
Peavey Windsor Halfstack
MXR Distortion III
Dunlop Jazz 3 picks (Red)
DR Tite-fit 10's
Monster Cables