i know there are a lot of pickup threads, but i'm not that good with pickup selecting...

I have a Gibson Les Paul Standard. My amp is a fender twin. i have my effects covered. I was wondering if there any better pickups than what come stock on the standards. i don't really have a reason for new pickups, but if i spent this much on a guitar, might as well make it a lil better.

i play any kind of music you can think of, but mostly, classic rock to modern heavy rock. but, i also play in my schools jazz band, so i need something that can do cleans well.

some pickups that look like would work from dimarzio looked like maybe an evo2 in the bridge and an air norton in the neck? from the duncan line, a jb in the bridge and jazz in the neck.

thanks in advance
Quote by yorkshireterror
Dunlop's got the right idea
Oh yeah, only took me a few months
Founder of the "I Support Robert Keeley Mods," if you like them too, put this in your sig!

i <3 breakdowns
try a dimarzio tone zone with a PAF pro great combo, but im not sure that you NEED them, how long have you been playing, and are you currently in a band? what genre?
Shut up, he told you everything you needed to know in the first post. You try and recomend a pick up when you can't even choose a guitar? Go away.

As for the thread starter, my opinion would be a Dimarzio Super Distortion. They play classic rock and heavy stuff very well. Many classic rock guitarists used these. They're my favorite pickup. If I had the money, I would put them in both my guitars.

Gear
Gibson Explorer
Epi Les Paul Standard

Amp
B-52 AT-100 Half stack.

If you change the pups, you wouldn't notice a night/day difference. Burstbuckers are very good and you should keep em they get the job done for a large range of music types. Trying to play metal or hard rock through a fender twin is the problem. That is a clean amp and really works best in that way.
Ibanez -> Peavey -> Eardrums

Apparently I'm on some list of people to listen to..?