I've been trying really hard to understand scales but I still don't get them. I don't have enough money or time for a teacher so what is the best thing I can do?
Just play on without theory? to me a scale is just a pattern of notes on the fretboard, nothing more.

I dont know if you have some advice, it will be very appreciated

edit: another thing. I just recieved my guitar back from the shop a few days ago and i told them the low E string and A string buzzed. they said they fixed it, well its a bit better but they still buz, what should i do ?

I know I sound like a complete noob but... I am
PSN name = Barmanation
Last edited by WantToLearn at Jul 17, 2006,
you need some music theory in playing because without it, you can get kind of bored and frustrated with notes that don't sound right. i just went onto this sight for a loonggg time and learned a bunch on scales. i've never had a teacher but ug is pretty good. pick n grin has some good beginner videos that might help you out. search in columns "steal this video" to get those.

the buzzing is from the action not being exact. i sent mine in and they still buzzed slightly but after just practicing for a while they stopped. so just keep playing and it might stop too.
███████████████
We are the music makers, we are the dreamers of dreams.
████████████
thanks for the reply, i'll check out those videos. thanks again =)
PSN name = Barmanation
Ok lets try Scales:

scales are made up of different gaps between notes. These are either tones or semi-tones. A semi-tone is the difference between 1 fret and the next, and a tone is 2 frets. C major is the most basic scale:

C --tone gap- D -Tone gap - E - semi-tone gap - F - tone gap - G - tone - A - tone - B - semi-tone - C

so C D E F G A B C

now, as you can see, most notes have a tone gap inbetween them except for E -> F and
B -> C these have a semi-tone inbetween them. so all the notes in music are (Bb or Cb means 1 semi-tone below that note, # means one above)