I remember reading something about Eddie VanHalen boiling his strings.

I believe it was so they would stay in tune better.
I actually went through desperate measures a couple days ago and boiled a 10 year old high e string. Now granted that it was 10 years old, it sounds as good as I think I'm going to get it, but it does sound better now than it did before. BUT, the completely my opinion, I'm no expert on string boiling.
wait....i thought that getting strings wet rusts them? is this serious?
Quote by ImSheddingSkin
your avatar rules
I don't know but boiling a cd makes it run better. (That's true).
Member #8 of the "Official UG Teabaggers' Cult". PM Slayer224 to join.
Quote by danzig-_-
wait....i thought that getting strings wet rusts them? is this serious?

THey might not rust if you dried them off really good
"This is gunna blow my cover but I like the FedEx driver because he's a drug dealer and he doesn't even know it"-Mitch Hedberg RIP
If they are coated it will take off the coating. If they are anything but stainless steel they will rust. Stringzzz was right when he said VH did it. BUT, he only did it once because it didn't work. It made them go out of tune faster.
This is a trick some bassists use. It cleans the strings. It is not recommended for guitar strings, probably because they are smaller.
Quote by kirbyrocknroll
This is a trick some bassists use. It cleans the strings. It is not recommended for guitar strings, probably because they are smaller.

True, bassists can do this, a guitar tech told me about that.
FlickR
iBanez Rg550 20th Anniversary.
iBanez GRG170DX W/ Dimarzio Steve's Special
VTM 60 Tube Head
Carvin Legacy Vai Cabinet 4x12 Cabinet
Boss SD-1 Super Overdrive
ZW-44 Overdrive
Zakk Wylde Signiture Wah