I've been playing piano for about 7 years, cello 3 and stuff so I have musical experience, but I only know classical-sounding scales. What I want to know is, is 0-1-3-4-7-8-11-12(E, F, G, Ab, B, C, D#, E) a scale(I've heard it in Carcass stuff and like the way it sounds), and if so, what is it called? Just curious.
well it wouldn't have both Ab and D#...

there's 2 1.5 step gaps in there and one means harmonic minor so it may be some variation off of that...
not sure though
technically it's got notes in a repeating pattern so it is a scale... but what scale i have no idea.
Well, it's a scale, any series of notes is a scale... as for its name...

E F G Ab B C D# = 1 b2 #2 3 5 b6 7

Never seen it before. It's definitely an odd set of intervals...
Looking for my India/Django.
closest to it..that i've seen is the augmented scale
Nicks and dents are battle scars...they give a guitar history.

Quote by Homer Simpson
When you think about it, mud is just wet dirt.
well it could be
1 b2 b3 b4 5 b6 7

edit- heyoooo hold on.
ill get back to you in a minute or two.
#1 2 3 4 #5 6 7

augmented with a raised 1st???

ooooor phyrigian mode with #2????

(sorry for double post.)

edit- wrong.
sorry this is bugging me so i have to figure it out
edit again.

no idea. guessing it's a mode of some other scale because 1 b2 b3 b4 5 b6 7 seems like too many flats and #1 2 3 4 #5 6 #7 doesn't make sense either... (technically 1 b2 2 3 4 #5 6 ?) could just be harm. minor with a lowered 2 and 4 (e harm. min b9 b11.. possibly)

i take it back.
E harmonic minor b9 b11 seems to make the most sense.
i could be wrong.
hope that made any sort of sense.
Last edited by phoenix_88 at Jul 18, 2006,
It's a lydian diminished scale with a raised 6th.

F lydian in this case.