Howdy. My music assesment for this term is to write a short classical piece. Being a rock/funk/metal guitarist I feel a bit like a fish out of water venturing into it. I looked through the lessons here and found nothing, so I thought I'd come here. If anyone has any links to some good sites for information about progressions/basslines/suitable scales that would be handy.

What scales are best to use for my melodies? Tips on progressions, basslines, melody ideas and any other handy tips would be really helpful.
ESP H-300 (EMG81/85)
Ibanez RG570
Ashton VP30
Dunlop Crybaby
Boss CE-5
Boss DS-2
Behringer EQ-700
Member #12 of the "Use Your Fucking Dictionary Club." PM Dæmönika to join.
Mr T of the Avatar A-Team.
well you should listen to some yngwie malmsteen
he combines metal speed and classical music
my tips for you is
the harmonic minor, emphasis on the phrygian mode, you got some trills (like quick hammer ons and pull offs that last a bit), and also theres the diminished scale

download far beyond the sun by yngwie
and black star
Yeah, I have those songs. I have to control myself with speed for this, but thanks alot for the tips, I'm gunna check out those scales.
ESP H-300 (EMG81/85)
Ibanez RG570
Ashton VP30
Dunlop Crybaby
Boss CE-5
Boss DS-2
Behringer EQ-700
What do you mean by "Classical" piece? If you are going to do a real classical (referring to the actual classical era) piece it would be in the style of Mozart or Hadyn. I highly recomend that you not use the Phrygian mode as the key of a song if it is a classical piece, and even if it is Baroque. Start with something in a major key, a I V IV progression would be fine. Mozart uses the minor 3rd and then goes to a major third quite alot, it is almost used as a leading tone.

It all depends on what type of classical piece you are doing, Phrygian=not a good idea, only for the V chord. What I mean is don't write a song in a Phrygian key
~Long live the 6-string~