Hey guys, I am a guitar noob who started just last week.

I cant say i know what direction I want to go in just yet as far as genre because up until now I never bothered to listen specifically or single out the guitarists in the band. All i know is what I like...

Could someone tell me what genre a solo like this one would most likely be used in, because I enjoyed listening a lot.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7270915684119912862&q=in+flames

Also, what type of guitar would be good for this... it doesnt sound very distorted, but hell if I know.

In addition to this I have often appreciated music by Larc en Ciel.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=1293374309571680161&q=larc+en+ciel
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7601542079854838242&q=larc+en+ciel
Does it make sense that someone could like both the above and below types of music, or pursue practice of both styles?

It may be too early for me to decide just now but ... you know, i just want to find the guitar i should be obsessing over before I decide I like something that wont even be a smart choice for me.
In Flames is Metal (and a good choice of solo)

L'Arc en Ciel, if I'm right, is sort of rock.

If you're looking for a guitar, an Ibanez is better than anything. Depends on your price range for the model.

You can like any type of music, it's not necessarily wrong to like Country and then like Metal (not referring to the above artists)

If you like In Flames, I'd recommend an Ibanez and various Rock/Metal type bands, like Metallica and ... etc. (I just got up I can't think)

But for just music, and hopefully when you're advanced, Dragonforce, Black Label Society and/or Children of Bodom could be good influences to push you further.

Welcome to the world of Guitar and I hope you enjoy it.
---------------
VOX AD30VT
BOSS GT8

Want to build a Jackson, to be fairly freaking honest.

Quote by Kanthras
Put some crap in the hole, like something sticky. And liquid-ish.
deviantART: Click Here