I'm new to guitar and could use some help identifying which key a song is in.

I have purchased a chord/scale relationship book but it is a little confusing. There is a puzzle system for placing chords into.
Major-Minor-Minor-Major-Major-Minor-Diminished

So if I have chords in a song...
G-Em-C-D

I can identify that from the "puzzle system" the key is G??? Is this correct? Also Does this mean that I can improvise solo over those chords using the Ionian mode starting with root note of G on the sixth low E string?

Also, how do I know to solo in other modes??? Like, can somebody give me an example of a chord progression that is in a different key and mode, and how do you know???

Thanks in advance.
Yes, I believe that is a I-vi-IV-V chord progression in the key of G Major.

And yes... of course you can use G Ionian to improvise over it... but don't be afraid to mix things up, try G Major pentatonic, maybe. I'd recommend you start improvising by emphasising the root note, yes - in this case G. (Though it doesn't have to be on the low E string, as I'm sure you know).

I'll let someone else help you with your other question - I haven't got enough time to type anything out for you, sorry.
The "puzzle system" is correct.

In the key of G it would be:

G maj
A min
B min
C maj
D maj
E min
F# dim

So it's in the key of G. To solo over this you can use the G major scale or it's modes. Also, you can use pentatonic and blues scales to add some spice. The modes in a major scale are Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, and Locrian...you can use those modes depending on what you want your solo to sound like.

EDIT:

If I am correct, the tonalities of the modes follow that "puzzle sytem" too.

Ionian-Major
Dorian-Minor
Phrygian-Minor
Lydian-Major
Mixolydian-Major, but this mode is kind of...various.
Aeolian-Minor
Locrian-Diminished.
Last edited by kirbyrocknroll at Jul 20, 2006,