Howdy all,

I have been lurking on this board for about 6 months now, finally decided to join. Lots of great info and I have learned a lot.

I am a 33 year old nightclub manager. I have never played an instrument in my life until about 7 months ago, when I bought my first bass. As I work about 70 hr/week and have a live in girlfriend and 3 year old son, I don't get to practice nearly as much as I want.

As I said, my first time ever even holding a musical instrument was 7 months ago. I have never had a lesson and know nothing of music theory. I figured that I have wasted so much money on much more frivolous things, why not give it a try. Turns out, I love it. As I go out for a living, on my night off I prefer to stay home, grab a few beers and watch a few movies. While doing this, the bass is in my lap.

Now to the scared part. The nightclub that I run features live music upstairs and a danceclub downstairs. We have a great relationship with the band that is playing tonight. When they do their cover of "Glory Days" by Bruce Springstein, it is tradition that my bartender gets up their and sings. Everyone loves it and has a great time.

The band came up with the genius idea that I should get up their and play bass for that one song. Now, I have never even jammed with anyone, let alone played on stage. I usually play along with a song on my laptop or just screw around. I did learn the chorus to Glory Days and I guess I have to give it a try. I only know the chorus, I am hoping the bass player can fill me in on the rest, or maybe even play along side me for when I screw it up!!

Anyways, just wanted to introduce myself and see if anyone has any tips for me so I don't make a TOTAL ass of myself (partial ass is fine).

Bounce
If you make a mess, don't panic and look uncomfortable, just laugh and look around. :-)
Quote by sprkidjar
i'll give you a rimjob.

Ibanez RGT 42 DX FM TLF
Crate GT1200 Half-stack
Boss GT8
orangeacid.net

(\__/)