doesn't it have to do with pentatonic scale positions? i wouldn't know, i learned those using a different name for them
Quote by Dan Steinman
doesn't it have to do with pentatonic scale positions? i wouldn't know, i learned those using a different name for them

Never heard of associating CAGED with pentatonics

What name did you use?
It's the 5 main open major chords, C major, A major, G major, E major, and D major.

wow thanks bgc, i didn't know it was really that simple. Looks like ive been using CAGED for the last 6 years!!

thanks again
Yeah but there's more to it then that. Most guitar players can (or should) be able to play any basic chord in at least two positions, using the E and A shape barre chords. For example, pick a chord, say F#. You can play it using an E shape barre chord by barreing at the second fret, right? You can also play it using an A shape barre chord, by barreing at the 10th fret. Or you can use power chords or half barre chords or other voicings... the main thing is that you know there are two different places on the neck to play that chord. More importantly, some of the basic pentatonic shapes, as well as other scale shapes, as well as other riffs and licks, are played around the same frets as those barre chords. This gives you a way to start finding your way around the neck -- you can use those basic E and A shapes as guideposts, or markers, or whatever you want to call it.

Now, extend the principle to the C, D, and G chords. Can you do the same thing with these shapes as with the E and A shapes, that is, given a chord, can you find it using those shapes?