i have heard alot about them, and using them in solos, how exactly do you do them, and what exactly are they?
im self taught, and been playing for a year, so its hard for me to find information on things like these, i dont have a teacher telling me, so i need some info, thanks guys
An arpeggio is going through the notes of a chord one by one.

e|-----------0------------------------------
B|---------0---0----------------------------
G|-------0-------0--------------------------
D|-----2-----------2------------------------
A|---2---------------2----------------------
E|-0--------------------0-------------------

That, for example was an Em arpeggio. A lot of guitarists use arpeggiated barre chords for sweep picking and the like, though of course they aren't limited to sweeps.
Quote by dudetheman
So what? I wasted like 5 minutes watching DaddyTwoFoot's avatar.

Metalheads are the worst thing that ever happened to metal.
Arpeggios are broken chords. Insted of strumming a chord, you play each note one by one. House Of The Rising Sun is a good example.

Alot of guys into shred use them all over the neck, but i only like em used with simple chords.
Quote by Dirtydeeds468
People don't like Dave Mustaine because he created something that owned Metallica in just about every single aspect of thrash metal.

it's true
If it's a chord, it can be arpeggiated.
Quote by dudetheman
So what? I wasted like 5 minutes watching DaddyTwoFoot's avatar.

Metalheads are the worst thing that ever happened to metal.
Quote by the_man101
so you can play them any where in the neck?

Yep, like in a solo, if you are playing over an A minor chord, an option would be to arpeggiate it and stress the notes A, C, and E, since those are the notes that give A minor its basic tonal quality.
Quote by kirbyrocknroll