Poll: Finger Exercises?
Poll Options
View poll results: Finger Exercises?
Yes!
19 95%
No!
1 5%
Voters: 20.
Loads of 'teach yourself guitar' books have on their first page a finger exercise for example:
e|-----------------------------------------1-2-3-4-|
B|---------------------------------1-2-3-4---------|
G|-------------------------1-2-3-4-----------------|
D|-----------------1-2-3-4-------------------------|
A|---------1-2-3-4---------------------------------|
E|-1-2-3-4-----------------------------------------|

These seem to me to be completely non-musical, you rarely find stuff like this in actual songs. Do you think there is any point for beginners to practice these, or would time be spent better on more practical stuff e.g. scales.
yes there is a point, i've been playing for 10 years and still practice these, as for being non musical thats TOTALLY not true, add a little blues or jazz vibe to it and TADA its musical!! blues and jazz both use chromatics.
Quote by z4twenny
yes there is a point, i've been playing for 10 years and still practice these, as for being non musical thats TOTALLY not true, add a little blues or jazz vibe to it and TADA its musical!! blues and jazz both use chromatics.

As I said, it can occasionally be used in music, but the main aim of it is as an exersise. What I mean is, do exersises genuinely strengthen your fingers or make you a faster guitarist?
Quote by CheckOutSerafin
As I said, it can occasionally be used in music, but the main aim of it is as an exersise. What I mean is, do exersises genuinely strengthen your fingers or make you a faster guitarist?

If you play them correctly, yes. But then again, people use other scales as finger excercises... what difference does it make that the scale is chromatic?

If the practice is correct then the results will be good, if the practice is incorrect the results will be non-existant or bad.