Hey all,

I just bought a Mexican Fender P-Bass which was set up correctly in shop right after I bought it from a reliable store.

Other than the obvious "it hurts to move from guitar to bass" and "the frets are HUGE!"... I've noticed that unless I press down hard on the strings, they buzz a bit. Maybe it's because I'm used to no buzzing from my Strat, but it sound a bit much. I don't think it comes across when I play plugged-in, but I hear it a lot.

Can anyone let me know if this is normal or if there may be something wrong? Maybe I'm just spoiled on my Strat?
Maybe the action on your bass is a little too low. That, or you REALLY need to press down on the frets. Being a guitarist, I don't know too much about bass, but I know loads about getting the best sound out of your instrument. I think the transition from guitar to bass shouldn't be that bad because the only difference is the size of the instrument and what you play.

Another problem is, you bought a Mexican P-Bass. Just buy a standard from Korea or Japan, they make them much better in my opinion. Try getting some better pick-ups and REALLY check your electrical systems, because they're notorious for screwing that up too. Good luck with the bass.
I really can't buy anything else right now. I just recently picked up the P-Bass, and the quality is perfectly fine for what I'm doing (it's not a Squier...).

The action may be low... but I didn't set it low, and the guy who set it up for me is a bassist for a decent band and is pretty good (he performed a bit on it for me first).

The thing is... the strings are HUGE and so are the frets. It feels a lot harder to play, physically I mean. I may just not be used to the extra effort, since my hands are kinda small.
Hmm yeah I got a lot of fret buzz when I first started playing and my hands are pretty small too. I was thinking of lifting the bridge until I started playing and I could play it fine.