Well here is my situation: I started learning around Feburary of this year, trying to play guitar. The main problem is that I started off playing (not really learning too much) stuff I was listening to, mainly blink-182, Green Day, ect: power chord stuff. Well I was thinking it was pretty hard learning but I felt pretty good because I was playing it well. (I did this myself, didn't take lessons)

Now, recently I've realized that was a pretty bad mistake because I really haven't learned anything except how to play power chords! I've looked around at some other stuff (Goo Goo Dolls, but some metal stuff mainly) and it seems alot more difficult than what I've been doing.

Although blink 182 and similar bands are what I mainly listen to and have enjoyed playing, I really know I should try learning other stuff now, before its been too long, but I have no idea what to do. I can't take lessons (mainly because of money and time) so if anyone has any suggestions what to do please help. As I said, those power chord bands are mainly what I listen to but I won't advance with that. What should I do? Thanks.
Learn some sabbath. never hurts and it really helped me develop my ears.
the lesser known of the 4
is power chords all you know? or do you know bar chords and open chords as well?
Some Guy?
Hey, I've been going since January and I've had the same problem. What I think u should do is try playing more songs like stairway to heaven and Hotel California. They are both great songs that are extremely diffucult to learn.

But no matter wut keep playing, make up your own riffs or try a new type of playing. Try Blues, Indie, Alternative, Punk, heck even emo. These are all different and require skills. If i were you I would try Going with the blues. It is not very catchy unless your a long time listener but it has a lot finger picking and requires great timing.
Good luck and don't quit playing