Ok, here's the deal. I've been playing guitar off and on for around 8 years. I can safely rip through the solos of my favorite songs from my favorite bands. My speed has undergone a massive improvement over the past year and I know that it will continue to do so as long as I put a majority of my free time on my axe. I pick sixteenth notes rather clearly up to around 144 bpm.

My fear is this. I don't want to sound like anyone else. I want to have my own sound and expand my technique and skills to that effect. I find that now when I do any type of improvisational work I tend to sound like the bands that I have been shredding with. It's getting aggravating, because I have found that it's become too much of a safe haven that really doesn't belong to me.

I know that in order for me to improve as I wish I need to expand my knowledge of the nuts and bolts of music in general. As far as learning Music Theory on my own I have to terms with the fact that in that area I have advanced ADD. This question is for anyone who has had any type of collegiate courses Music Theory. How did it help your guitar playing, and what were some noteable changes on how you approached music thereafter? Thank you in advance, and please try to keep vague answers and off topic posts in the other threads.

BE
Well I've been taking guitar lessons for a few years now and decided to focus on my theory studies moreso and same in my music class at school.

Obviously a better knowledge of the theory of the guitar will allow you to know just what sounds good and what will sound out of place, it can help you develop your own styles of soloing based on modes and stuff, and how to recover if you play an out of place note, etc.
Also, you'll know where to apply what scales and modes, what chords wound good with what chords, what scales/modes sound good with what chords, etc etc etc