hey i've been playing for some 2-3 years and i recently asked my teacher to start teaching me theory. he first told me that he would teach me theory, then apply it to the guitar. He said i should try to memorize the notes on the fretboard.

obviously this will not be easy/fun, and obviously everyone has their own way of doing it, but i was wondering how some of you guys did it...

fret by fret? string by string? in note order?

give me some tips!!
Member of the "Marty Friedman > You" Club. PM apocalypse13 or altronataku to join

Gear:

ESP LTD DV8-R
Squier SG (Specs Unknown)
Kustom KGA-10 Ten watt practice amp
Marshall TSL 602

My JEM Build
I memorized the notes on the inlays first. Then began to identify the notes on the frets without inlays.

Also remember that E-F and B-C are only a half step apart.
Try drawing a full fret board on a regular piece of printing paper and label each note on there (be sure to include the strings to). While you label each note, color each note with the color that the note reminds you of (use colored pens.. not fat markers).

For instance, an A reminds me of red.. dunno why but it does.. and C reminds me of yellow. So I would write each A natural in red and each C natural in yellow. You probably don't need to write any sharp/flat note in any color because you have all of the natural notes already colored.. so it will be very easy to find the sharps/flats by then.

This will let you familiarize with the fretboard pretty fast because your used to the colors you chose for each note.

Note: If your saying to yourself "I don't understand because I don't think of colors" then think of a different way.. this is just the way I did it. Also, if you have trouble finding out what notes to label or where they go in the first place... then just look up a model of a fretboard on the internet as a guide.
Quote by Overlord
It's not hard to be nice, but it's nice to be hard
Last edited by Carnivean at Jul 22, 2006,
lol thanx i'll give those a try