Hi everyone! I'm sure this is probably something you've all seen a million times before, but I'm looking for some advice on my pedal setup. Been playing about 7 years, self-taught, so I've not had much input from people in-the-know! I've amassed various guitars and pedals, but I'm not particularly happy with the selection of pedals I've got. I'm looking for a sound that very much echoes that of Nirvana, Live, Green Day, Foos, Bush, Silverchair, Lit etc etc. Quite varied but a simple kind of sound. The pedals I currently have are:

Boss DS-1 Distortion
Boss HM-3 Hyper Metal
Boss CS-3 Compression Sustainer
Electro Harmonix Big Muff
DODTEC 4x Multi FX
Danelectro Milkshake Chorus
Jim Dunlop Wah (yet to use as I can't find a power cable to fit it)

Due to my great inexperience, I haven't found a pedal order I'm happy with, or indeed a pedal that gives me the sound I'd like. I bought the Big Muff and Distortion pedals as I thought it'd give me the Kurt sound, but haven't found it as yet. There is a really lush distortion on the Multi FX pedal, but the pedal itself has a delay from selecting effects that standalone pedals don't have, and it also carries so much interference and buzzing, even picking up foreign radio signals through the amp!! The Milkshake Chorus was really a bargain buy that I had no idea of, along with the Compression Sustainer, although that turned out pretty good for raising the sound level of clean guitar (you see my complete lack of knowledge now!). Thanks if you've read this far, I'd really appreciate any guidance anyone can give a novice of 7 years! If I was to eBay all my current pedals, what would you suggest for a great line-up? The guitars I have at the moment are a Fender Strat, Fender Jaguar and a Gibson Les Paul SE. My amp is just a 10w Fender job, nothing amazing as I have little space!
I'm looking for that alt. rock/punk/metal sound as above! Many thanks in advance!

Matt H